Michael Pietrocarlo

Michael is a fantastic photographer that is new to Norman Felix. He was accepted into TUPF (Toronto Urban Photography Festival), and this is how we fell in love with his work!

Make sure to read his Artist Statement, its not only well written, but explains what his photography is after.

“I am fascinated by forsaken spaces: structures whose longevity has defied their purpose;

sites reclaimed by nature, time, and the boundaries of ruin. I discover and photograph

these places in reverence of their former significance, and to uncover the beauty that

remains beneath the decay”.

“I seek locations with historical value, lost to the vagaries of passing trends and time.

Unconventional aesthetics draw my focus: aged, broken, corroded, and desolate

constructs. Recurring themes within my images are the contrasts of

transience/permanence, deterioration/renewal, and abandonment/reclamation.

I employ a practice akin to found art, appropriating found places in a similar manner. I

strive to capture the scenes faithfully and undisturbed; my technique favors wide-angle

perspectives and natural lighting to convey vicarious presence. Utilizing the scale of the

final prints, my hope is to evoke a sense of distressed grandeur and intimate emptiness.

Any image manipulation is done with intent and obvious effect to communicate a particular

visual statement”.

“Ultimately, I endeavor to document spaces that were once purposefully occupied by

multitudes, but now only serve to occupy the imagination of the observer. Perhaps my

own struggles with mortality are partially appeased by demonstrating artistry in dereliction

and purpose in obsolescence”.

Bloxom

Title: Bloxom

http://normanfelix.com/sobi2/all-artists/michael-pietrocarlo.html


Join us at Norman Felix Gallery for Contact 2013, Friday May 10th!

Please click this link to RSVP and guarantee admission to the event.

Should the link not work, please RSVP by emailing art@normanfelix.com

See Facebook event here.

One Comment on “Michael Pietrocarlo”

  1. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look
    forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!


Leave a Reply

